The Fruit of the Spirit (ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Catholic edition, Septuagint order)

ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Catholic edition, Septuagint order

Galatians 5:22-23

22 But the Spirit produces love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,

23 humility, and self-control. There is no law against such things as these.

The Fruit of the Spirit (ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised)

ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised

Galatians 5:22-23

22 But the Spirit produces love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,

23 humility, and self-control. There is no law against such things as these.

The Armor of God (ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised)

ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised

Ephesians 6:10-18

10 Finally, build up your strength in union with the Lord and by means of his mighty power.

11 Put on all the armour that God gives you, so that you will be able to stand up against the Devil’s evil tricks.

12 For we are not fighting against human beings but against the wicked spiritual forces in the heavenly world, the rulers, authorities, and cosmic powers of this dark age.

13 So put on God’s armour now! Then when the evil day comes, you will be able to resist the enemy’s attacks; and after fighting to the end, you will still hold your ground.

14 So stand ready, with truth as a belt tight round your waist, with righteousness as your breastplate,

15 and as your shoes the readiness to announce the Good News of peace.

16 At all times carry faith as a shield; for with it you will be able to put out all the burning arrows shot by the Evil One.

17 And accept salvation as a helmet, and the word of God as the sword which the Spirit gives you.

18 Do all this in prayer, asking for God’s help. Pray on every occasion, as the Spirit leads. For this reason keep alert and never give up; pray always for all God’s people.

The Lord is my Shepherd (ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised)

ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised

Psalms 23

1 The LORD is my shepherd; I have everything I need.

2 He lets me rest in fields of green grass and leads me to quiet pools of fresh water.

3 He gives me new strength. He guides me in the right paths, as he has promised.

4 Even if I go through the deepest darkness, I will not be afraid, LORD, for you are with me. Your shepherd’s rod and staff protect me.

5 You prepare a banquet for me, where all my enemies can see me; you welcome me as an honoured guest and fill my cup to the brim.

6 I know that your goodness and love will be with me all my life; and your house will be my home as long as I live.

God’s Love (ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised)

ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised

John 3:16

16 For God loved the world so much that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him may not die but have eternal life.

The Beatitudes (ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised)

ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised

Matthew 5:3-12

3 “Happy are those who know they are spiritually poor; the Kingdom of heaven belongs to them!

4 Happy are those who mourn; God will comfort them!

5  Happy are those who are humble; they will receive what God has promised!

6  Happy are those whose greatest desire is to do what God requires; God will satisfy them fully!

7 Happy are those who are merciful to others; God will be merciful to them!

8 Happy are the pure in heart; they will see God!

9 Happy are those who work for peace; God will call them his children!

10 Happy are those who are persecuted because they do what God requires; the Kingdom of heaven belongs to them!

11 “Happy are you when people insult you and persecute you and tell all kinds of evil lies against you because you are my followers.

12 Be happy and glad, for a great reward is kept for you in heaven. This is how the prophets who lived before you were persecuted.

The Ten Commandments (ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised)

ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised

Exodus 20:3-17

3 “Worship no god but me.

4 “Do not make for yourselves images of anything in heaven or on earth or in the water under the earth.

5 Do not bow down to any idol or worship it, because I am the LORD your God and I tolerate no rivals. I bring punishment on those who hate me and on their descendants down to the third and fourth generation.

6 But I show my love to thousands of generations.6 thousands of generations; or thousands. of those who love me and obey my laws.

7 “Do not use my name for evil purposes, for I, the LORD your God, will punish anyone who misuses my name.

8 “Observe the Sabbath and keep it holy.

9 You have six days in which to do your work,

10 but the seventh day is a day of rest dedicated to me. On that day no one is to work — neither you, your children, your slaves, your animals, nor the foreigners who live in your country.

11 In six days I, the LORD, made the earth, the sky, the sea, and everything in them, but on the seventh day I rested. That is why I, the LORD, blessed the Sabbath and made it holy.

12 “Respect your father and your mother, so that you may live a long time in the land that I am giving you.

13 “Do not commit murder.

14 “Do not commit adultery.

15 “Do not steal.

16 “Do not accuse anyone falsely.

17 “Do not desire another man’s house; do not desire his wife, his slaves, his cattle, his donkeys, or anything else that he owns.”

The Lord’s Prayer (ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised)

ENGLISH: Good News Bible – Anglicised

Matthew 6:9-13

9 This, then, is how you should pray: ‘Our Father in heaven: May your holy name be honoured;

10 may your Kingdom come; may your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.

11 Give us today the food we need. 

12 Forgive us the wrongs we have done, as we forgive the wrongs that others have done to us.

13 Do not bring us to hard testing, but keep us safe from the Evil One.’

The Fruit of the Spirit (ENGLISH: Good News Bible – British Translation)

ENGLISH: Good News Bible – British Translation

Galatians 5:22-23

22 But the Spirit produces love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,

23 humility, and self-control. There is no law against such things as these.

The Fruit of the Spirit (ENGLISH: Good News Bible – American Translation)

ENGLISH: Good News Bible – American Translation

Galatians 5:22-23

22 But the Spirit produces love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,

23 humility, and self-control. There is no law against such things as these.